Ilchester ArmsChurch Street
See more about this pub on WhatPub, CAMRA's national pub guide.
The hotel is situated in the picturesque village of Ilchester close to the A303 & between RNAS Yeovilton & Yeovil. This listed building was built in the late 18th century with later extensions. First licensed in 1786 the hotel was originally known as The George Tavern and was the favourite haunt of Llewellen Powys, the writer. In 1894 The George became a drapers shop run by Eli Wilson & Son until 1925 when a fire destroyed the drapery stock & shop fittings. The building then became The Ivelchester Hotel until 1995 when it became The Ilchester Arms. From 1962-1985 Mr Ken Seaton owned the hotel & in the cellars is where he first started experimenting with combining cheese with chives, beer & a blend of spices. This & other blended cheeses are to this day manufactured & distributed by the Ilchester Cheese Company (now known as Norseland). There are 10 bedrooms each with flat screen free view televisions. There is WiFi for all hotel guests. There is conference & private dining facilities. The Bar is open daily for hot & cold beverages and real ale & the Bistro is open every day for Lunch(12 – 2.30pm) & Dinner (7 – 9PM) (except Sunday). Of note - The Bull opposite is owned by same owners.